Biographie

English

Biographie

 
bio_donald21Donald Winkler est né à Winnipeg en 1940. Il a fait des études en littérature à l’Université du Manitoba et a suivi des cours de théâtre à la Yale University. Entre 1967 et 1995, il a travaillé en tant que réalisateur et scénariste à l’Office national du film et, depuis 1980, il traduit des oeuvres littéraires québécoises. Il a gagné le prix du Gouverneur général pour la traduction français-anglais en 1994, 2011, et 2013, a été finaliste en 1988, 1998, et 2015.

Dans ses films, Winkler s’est spécialisé dans le domaine des arts et de la culture. Il a réalisé, entre autres, des courts métrages expérimentaux (Doodle Film et Journal de voyage), des films sur l’artisanat et les arts visuels (Hommage aux Mains et Bannerfilm), le théâtre (Breaking a Leg – Robert Lepage and the Echo Project), et les moeurs sociales (The Summer of ’67). Il a aussi réalisé une série importante de documentaires consacrés aux personnages littéraires canadiens. Parmi ces films, on compte F.R. Scott: Rhyme and Reason, Poet: Irving Layton Observed, et des films sur Al Purdy, Earle Birney, Ralph Gustafson, et P.K. Page.

Parmi ses films plus récents on peut compter Tomson Highway: Thank You for the Love You Gave, une biographie de l’extraordinaire dramaturge cri; La Diva en hiver, un documentaire sur la vie et carrière de Maureen Forrester; A Red Carpet for the Sun, sur le poète Montréalais Irving Layton; et Une voix humaine, sur la jeune contralto québécoise Marie-Nicole Lemieux. En 2004-2005, Winkler a réalisé Moshe Safdie: Le Pouvoir de l’architecture, un portrait du brillant architecte canadien et israélien, et The Pines of Emily Carr, un film qui entremêle paysages et art graphique avec, en fond sonore, l’interprétation d’une oeuvre pour ensemble de chambre inspirée par les journaux intimes de la peintre. (« Un film saisissant » — Toronto Globe and Mail). Il est aussi le coréalisateur de Couleur mémoire, Conversations avec Guido Molinari, un film tourné pendant les derniers mois de la vie de l’artiste ( « Un film d’un surprenant intimité… sobre et contemplatif » – Montreal Gazette). Ces trois films ont été présentés au Festival international du film sur l’art à Montréal en 2005, et Le Pouvoir de l’architecture a reçu le prix pour le meilleur film éducatif.

En 2007, Winkler a réalisé Ode pour un Requiem sur le Requiem de Mozart interprété par les Violons du Roy, et sur l’histoire et la musicologie de l’oeuvre. Le film a été diffusé en français sur ARTV, et en anglais sur CBC, et a reçu deux nominations Gemini. (« Aussi merveilleux à regarder qu’à écouter » – Ottawa Citizen. « à la fois invitante, excellente et éducative » – Toronto Globe and Mail). Son film suivant, Suzie LeBlanc: Une Quête musicale, présente cette soprano dans sa quête du folklore acadien et son exploration de ses propres racines au cours des répétitions menant au spectacle Tout passe. Suivait Margaret & Evergon, l’histoire d’une collaboration unique, artiste-modèle, entre un photographe et sa mère.

Dans le domaine de la traduction, 2007 a vu  la parution de A Secret Between Us, la traduction du roman de Daniel Poliquin, La Kermesse. Le livre a été finaliste pour le prix Giller de 2007. Terracide (Mal de terre) de l’astrophysicien Hubert Reeves, est sorti en 2009 chez Cormorant Books. Deux traductions ont suivi en 2010 : Are You Married to a Psychopath (Êtes-vous marié à un psychopathe), un recueil de nouvelles, très apprécié, de Nadine Bismuth, et la méditation magistrale du philosophe Georges Leroux sur le pianiste Glenn Gould et ce qui constitue le génie: Partita for Glenn Gould (Partita pour Glenn Gould). Partita for Glenn Gould a gagné le prix du Gouverneur général pour la traduction français-anglais en 2011, et a aussi été finaliste pour le prix de la traduction, 2011, du Quebec Writers’ Federation.

Assurée par Winkler, la traduction du plus récent recueil de poésie de Pierre Nepveu, The Major Verbs (Les verbes majeurs), publié chez Signal Editions, a reçu le Prix du gouverneur général 2013 pour la traduction, et aussi le prix de la fondation Cole du Quebec Writers’ Association. Sa traduction du roman-mémoire de Seyhmus Dagtekin, To the Spring, by Night (À la source, la nuit), est sortie chez McGill-Queen’s University Press au printemps 2013, suivie par le roman Eucalyptus de Mauricio Segura, chez Biblioasis Publishers, et Taking Aviation to New Heights: A Biography of Pierre Jeanniot (Pierre Jeanniot: Aux commandes du ciel), publié par Les Presses de l’Université d’Ottawa. L’année 2014 a vu deux nouvelles traductions: le deuxième tome des mémoires montréalaises de Jean Claude Germain, Of Jesuits and Bohemians (Le Coeur rouge de la bohème), et la biographie double des protagonistes des Plaines d’Abraham, de Roch Carrier, Montcalm & Wolfe. Montcalm & Wolfe était finaliste pour le Prix du gouverneur-général en traduction, 2015, pendant que la traduction de Winkler du recueil de nouvelles Arvida de Samuel Archibald était finaliste pour le prix Giller en 2015, et en 2016 pour le Best Translated Book Award aux États-Unis.

Plu récemment, Winkler a sorti la traduction du livre-poème de Jacques Rancourt, Forty-seven Stations for a Ravaged Town,  le recueil Crac de Paul Savoie, le roman-mémoire de Marguerite Andersen, The Bad Mother, le roman de Mélanie Vincelette, Polynya (en collaboration avec Sheila Fischman), et le recueil de poésie de Josephine Bacon, A Tea in the Tundra, dans une édition English-Innu. À venir: le roman Boundary (Bondrée) de Andrée A. Michaud, et des recueils de poésie de  René Lapierre, Joël Pourbaix, et Pierre Nepveu.

 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Biography

Français

Biography

bio_donald21Donald Winkler was born in Winnipeg in 1940, graduated from the University of Manitoba in 1961, and as a Woodrow Wilson Scholar, did graduate study at the Yale School of Drama. From 1967 to 1995 he was a film director and writer at the National Film Board of Canada in Montreal, and since the 1980s, a translator of Quebec literature: in 1994, 2011, and 2013 he won the Governor General’s Award for French to English translation, and has been a finalist for the prize on three other occasions.

Winkler’s films have dealt largely with the world of culture and the arts. His work has included short experimental films (Doodle Film and Travel Log); films on crafts and the graphic arts (In Praise of Hands and Bannerfilm); on theatre (Breaking a Leg – Robert Lepage and the Echo Project); on social history (The Summer of ’67); and, notably, a series of films on Canadian literary figures, collected under the overall title “Poets: A Sestet.” These documentaries provide a film record of six cultural pioneers who helped lay the foundations for modern Canadian writing. They include F.R. Scott: Rhyme and Reason; Poet: Irving Layton Observed; and films on Al Purdy, Earle Birney, Ralph Gustafson, and P.K. Page.

Winkler’s later films include Tomson Highway: Thank You for the Love You Gave, a biographical profile of the remarkable native-Canadian playwright; The Diva in Winter, on the great Canadian contralto Maureen Forrester; A Red Carpet for the Sun, on the life and career of poet Irving Layton; and A Voice for All Seasons, a profile of the brilliant young Quebec contralto Marie-Nicole Lemieux. In 2004-2005 Winkler directed Moshe Safdie: the Power of Architecture, a portrait of the distinguished Canadian-Israeli architect, and The Pines of Emily Carr, based on the musical composition by Canadian composer Jean Coulthard (described by the Toronto Globe and Mail as “a film both stark and stirring”). He also co-directed The Colour of Memory: Conversations with Guido Molinari, a contemplative portrait of the Quebec artist, filmed during the last months of his life (“a surprisingly intimate and personal profile… quiet and thoughtful” – Montreal Gazette). All three of these films were featured at the 2005 International Festival of Films on Art in Montreal, and the film on Moshe Safdie was declared Best Educational Film.

2007 saw the release of Ode to a Requiem, featuring a performance of Mozart’s Requiem by the Quebec based ensemble Les Violons du Roy, along with a consideration of the work’s history and musicology. It was premiered at the International Festival of Films on Art in Montreal in 2007, was broadcast on CBC’s Opening Night, and received two Gemini nominations. (“Engaging, excellent, and educational” – The Toronto Globe and Mail. “Gorgeous to look at, and gorgeous to listen to” – The Ottawa Citizen). This film was followed by Suzie LeBlanc: A Musical Quest, which focused on soprano Suzie LeBlanc’s quest for and performance of traditional Acadian music, and, in 2011, by Margaret & Evergon, the story of a unique artist-model collaboration between a photographer and his mother.

In the realm of translation, 2007  saw the release of A Secret Between Us, Winkler’s rendering  of La Kermesse, a novel by Daniel Poliquin. The book was a finalist for the 2007 Giller Prize. Terracide, astrophysicist Hubert Reeves’ inquiry into the future of human life on earth, appeared in 2009 with Cormorant Books. Two more translations appeared in the fall of 2010: Are You Married to a Psychopath, Nadine Bismuth’s highly praised collection of short stories, and philosopher Georges Leroux’s wide-ranging meditation on Glenn Gould and the nature of genius: Partita for Glenn Gould. Partita for Glenn Gould was awarded the 2011 Canada Council Governor General’s Literary Award for French to English translation, and was a finalist for the 2011 Quebec Writers’ Federation translation prize.

Winkler’s translation of Pierre Nepveu’s most recent collection of poetry, The Major Verbs , published by Signal Editions, won both the 2013 Governor General’s Award for Translation and  the Quebec Writers’ Federation’s Cole Foundation Translation Prize. His translation of Seyhmus Dagtekin’s To the Spring, by Night was released  in the spring of 2013, and his rendering of Mauricio Segura’s novel Eucalyptus  appeared that same year, followed by Taking Aviation to New Heights, a biography of the former Air Canada CEO, Pierre Jeanniot. The year 2014 saw two new translations: the second volume of Jean-Claude Germain’s Montreal memoirs, Of Jesuits and Bohemians, and Roch Carrier’s dual biography of the protagonists on the Plains of Abraham, Montcalm & Wolfe. Montcalm & Wolfe was a finalist for the 2015 Governor General’s Award for Translation, while Winkler’s translation of Samuel Archibald’s short story collection, Arvida, was a finalist for the 2015 Giller Prize, and the 2016 Best Translated Book Award in the United States.

Recent translations include Jacques Rancourt’s book-length poem on the Lac Mégantic disaster, Forty-seven Stations for a Ravaged Town, Paul Savoie’s poetry collection Crac, Marguerite Andersen’s novel-memoir, The Bad Mother, Mélanie Vincelette’s novel, Polynya (in collaboration with Sheila Fischman), and Josephine Bacon’s poetry collection A Tea in the Tundra, in an English-Innu edition. In the offing are poetry collections by René Lapierre, Joêl Pourbaix, and Pierre Nepveu, plus Andrée A. Michaud’s Governor General’s Award winning novel  Boundary (Bondrée).

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>